Chakra and Endocrine System

Sharing is caring!

Chakra and Endocrine system, are totally different things altogether, but then how they are related to each other, how they work, what are their respective role ? Let’s see ..



Chakra is a Sanskrit word, which means a wheel or a circle or spinning wheel of light, vortex or whirlpool.  As terminology for different subjects differs, the confusion is inevitable.

As water is called Jal in Sanskrit, Pani in Hindi, H2O in Chemistry, Czech call it Voda, Italian as Acqua, and to my surprise, it literally calls “Air” in Malay and Indonesian language.  So actually it is difficult to differentiate a term just on the basis of a name, we have to take into consideration  its nature and its functions.

There are many known and unknown chakras, chakras are located in the Subtle body which aligns the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head, but broadly are defined into seven main Chakras.

The elaborate description can be found in many Indian religious scriptures, Yoga Scriptures such as Hath Yoga Pradipika (HYP) by Swatmarama, Hindu Tantra, Vajrayana, Qigong, Indonesian and Malaysian metaphysics.

Each chakra has a specific color, specific beej mantra, and some geometrical designs in it .  Every chakra has a defined  number of lotus petals.  The lower chakras (according to the positioning of chakras, the term is not used in the sense of inferior ) have fewer petals, with the crown chakra having 1000 petals.  The more petals the lotus flower has, the higher the frequency.

In many Cultures mainly in Hinduism and Buddhism, the lotus is considered as a sacred flower and a powerful symbol of spirituality.  As lotus emerges from the dirty water to become pious flower often surrendered to Deity, the individual consciousness also gets purified at each level on its path to enlightenment.  Crown Chakra with 1000 petals symbolizes enlightenment.



The main seven chakras :


Sahasrara Chakra/ Crown Chakra located at the top of the head, related to Divine Consciousness, with 1000 petals.

Agnya Chakra/third eye Chakra located in eyebrow centre, related to intuition and self-realization, with 2 petals.

Vishuddhi Chakra/throat Chakra located at throat region, right to speak one’s belief, with 16 petals.

Anahat Chakra/ Heart chakra located in the centre of the chest, acceptance of oneself, 12 petals.

Manipur Chakra located above the naval, related to self-confidence and ego power, with 10 petals.

Swadhisthan chakra located  at lower abdomen, connected to our sensing abilities and issues related to feelings,with 6 petals.

Mooladhar chakra  at base of spine  related to the material and physical world, with 4 petals.



The  Endocrine System

The endocrine system refers to a collection of glands and is a ductless organism that hormones  directly into Circulatory System.  The endocrine system is the most remarkable system in a human body as its proper functioning is of utmost importance for growth and development of body, proper metabolism, reproduction and sleep.

These organs when are blocked or energetically impaired, imbalance creates in the hormonal level and are responsible for physical problems and appearance of diseases.

The major endocrine glands are Pineal, Pituitary, Thyroid-Para thyroid, Thymus, Adrenal, Pancreas, and reproductive system.


Now, have a look at the placement of endocrine glands in the human body, and you will find they are almost exactly positioned near the Chakra System.


download (8)

download (10)




A number of petals in the chakras are also of great importance.  They relate to the human spine and vertebras .

Human Spine consists of 24 vertebrae and that 24 Nerve pairs ( 48 nerves ) emanate from those 24 vertebrae.

A number of petals of Mooladhar  (4 petals), Swadhistan (6 petals ), Manipur (10 petals ), Anahat (12 petals), Visshudhi (14 petals), Ajna (2 petals),  when added up equals to 48, correspond to 48 nerves. (4+6+10+12+14+2=48)

To conclude we can say that the Endocrine glands are physical projection of Chakra system.  Pineal gland is a physical projection of Sahasrara Chakra, Pituitary gland is of Ajna chakra, thyroid gland is of Vishudhi Chakra and so on.  We can also safely say that Nervous system in human body is the physical projection of Yogic nadi system, primarily, Ida, Pingla and Sushmana.




Yogic saints were Scientists of their time and they discovered many mysteries of this Universe, and literally written down in the forms of Vedas, Upanishads and much more.  I think it’s just their terminology, that we misinterprete .  Many types of research clearly indicate that the endocrine glands are the physical projection of the chakras.

Scientific research is also in favour of the existence of  chakras.

Hiroshi Motoyama (born December 15, 1925) is a Japanese scientist and parapsychologist  opinioned  on Chakras :

Dr. Hiroshi Motoyama
“…We may define the chakra as an energy centre which spins like a wheel and opens like a flower. Metaphysical concepts, however, do not belong purely to the world of spiritual experience; scientific enquiry has in many cases confirmed age-old beliefs.”

We can effectively use  different descriptions of Chakras for the benefit in the improvement of the health of a person.  Chakras provide us a color description, beej mantra, geometrical patterns, so we can use color therapy, sound therapy, mantra therapy effectively to improve the vibration of that particular Chakra, which results in the improved functions of the Endocrine Gland and more healthy human society.


Sharing is caring!

Related Post

18 thoughts on “Chakra and Endocrine System”

  1. I wish people would turn to traditional therapies which have been around for years – I know a lady who got pregnant after years of trying after having reiki! Magical!

Leave a Comment